For all my life I have played most of my video games on Sony consoles. Sony consistently delivers with strong third party support and fantastic exclusives, so I have had no reason to go elsewhere. Now because I have played almost exclusively on Playstation I haven’t had the opportunity to play through some Xbox gems like Halo and Gears of War, but that has changed. During Black Friday 2016 I got myself an Xbox One S Halo bundle for just $250 and I am not regretting the purchase thus far.

The main reason I bought an Xbox One is to experience what the Xbox ecosystem has to offer and ,in turn, to get a better view of the console games industry as a whole. I haven’t spent enough time to truly grasp the pros and cons of the console, but I have had enough time to notice some things that are truly great about the Xbox One and set it apart from the PS4.

Backwards compatibility is a fantastic feature. It totally trumps Sony’s PS Now. I didn’t quite realize how robust the catalog of backwards compatibility was until I started doing some research. And man there is a ton of games that I missed out on in the 7th generation of consoles that I can now play on my Xbox One for absurdly low prices. Not to mention the convenience factor. No longer do I have to dust off my PS3 to play old games, and I know that is not a big deal for some people but for me it is. I really would like to play the Resistance Trilogy on PS3, but having to hook up my PS3 turns me off from it.

Although Sony isn’t anywhere near as tone-deaf and out of touch as Nintendo, they still make their fair share of bad decisions. Sony’s Playstation 4 has limited mod support with games like Fallout 4 and Skyrim as well as the absence of EA access. When talking to one of my friends who plays Fallout 4 on Xbox, it is obvious that the mods really add something tangible to the experience. On PS4 mods for both Fall0ut 4 and Skyrim are so trivial that I would never consider downloading any, especially when that means I can no longer earn trophies/achievements. As for EA access, it really is a great service. For just $30, I now have access to a plethora of quality EA games both new and old and other cool perks that come in handy if you play a lot of games published by EA. Gamers who play exclusively on Playstation are really missing out in this regard.

As much as I have enjoyed my time with my Xbox One, the lack of compelling exclusives compared to what Sony and Nintendo provide is very apparent. I can go on and on about the exclusive games on the PS4. With the likes of Uncharted 4, Infamous Second Son, and Bloodbourne and not to mention all the games that Sony has announced for the next few years there is a lot to be excited about. But on the Xbox, things are looking bleak. With the recent cancellation of Scalebound, Microsoft has one less exclusive that Xbox fans can get excited about. The Xbox One has really been making a comeback as of late, and Microsoft needs to provide more exclusive content to draw more people in. E3 2017 is extremely important for Microsoft. If they cannot announce anything of substance, then Microsoft has even less of a chance of shortening the sales gap between the PS4 and Xbox One.

